Twin Towns

Written by Garry on


Town twinning is the concept of creating a partnership between cities. The main goal for the cities is to work together in cultural and economical sectors as well as to inform about city structure related issues. Most twin town arrangements are between cities in different countries that face similar social, economical and political situations or perhaps share historical links.

The city of Dusseldorf currently supports six town-twinnings. The international commitment started in 1988 with treaties of partnership with the city of Reading in the UK, Warsaw in Poland, Haifa, Israel and Chemnitz of the former GDR. In 1992 Moscow in Russia joined the list of twin towns. The youngest relations are held with the city of Chongqing in China that became a partner city in 2004.


The city of Reading has a population of 148,000 inhabitants and is located on the confluence of the Thames and the Kennet, in the county of Berkshire approximately 60 km west of London.


Warsaw is the cultural and economical centre of Poland. The city with a population of 1,7 million people is one of the major cities in eastern Europe.


The third largest city in Israel, Haifa, has a population of 270,000 people and is an important seaport in the Middle East.


During the late 1980s a wave of German-German city partnerships were brought to life, among them also the one between Dusseldorf and Chemnitz.


A flourishing partnership with Moscow, the influential Russian capital, business centre and home to some 15 million Muscovites is one of the most important signs of Dusseldorf’s international commitment.


Chongqing is the most populous municipality in China, being home to more than 30 million people. The city itself is traditionally the centre of western China and was the provisional capital during the Second Japanese-Chinese War until 1945.